EVO Wins CINE Golden Eagle Award



Filmmaker John Feldman Wins Prestigious CINE Golden Eagle Award

For Immediate Release

Spencertown, NY (June 2011): Hummingbird Films is pleased to announce that EVO: Ten Questions Everyone Should Ask about Evolution, has won the prestigious CINE Golden Eagle Award, which has been widely recognized as a symbol of excellence in professional, independent and student filmmaking for over 50 years. EVO was directed by John Feldman and was awarded the CINE Golden Eagle for the Spring 2011 competition, one of two competitions conducted by CINE each year. Winners of the CINE competitions are chosen through a rigorous, tiered jury system, based on criteria reflecting storytelling, production value, artistry, purpose and overall excellence.

Since its founding in 1957, CINE has been dedicated to discovering, rewarding, educating, and supporting established and emerging talent in film and video. Among great talents whose first films were awarded CINE Golden Eagles are Steven Spielberg, Ken Burns and Ron Howard, and filmmakers such as Robert Zemeckis, Mike Nichols, Martin Scorcese, Mira Nair, Charles Guggenheim, Stanley Nelson, Albert Maysles, Frederick Wiseman have also been recipients of the Golden Eagle Award.

Filmmaker John Feldman lives in Spencertown with his wife the composer Sheila Silver who wrote the score for EVO and their son Victor. EVO takes a thought provoking journey with some of the worlds most engaging and celebrated scientists and philosophers into the evolution of life on Earth. The film poses ten fundamental questions about biological evolution and interweaves stunning cinematography, witty animations and a jazz-infused score with brilliant and inspiring interviews. EVO challenges viewers to relate scientific and philosophical ideas to their own experiences. The film was shot on the Galapagos Islands as well as in John’s own backyard in Spencertown.

Hummingbird Films is delighted that EVO: Ten Questions Everyone Should Ask about Evolution has been recognized by CINE and will join the archive of CINE winners, which can be found at www.cine.org.